For a special albeit out-of-the-way experience, visit the stately Old Sheldon Church Ruins. Moss-draped trees surround towering brick and tabby columns that comprise the remains of what was once one of the South’s most beautiful churches.
Located between Yemassee and Gardens Corner on one of the country’s oldest roads (S.C. Secondary Road 21), 15 miles east of Beaufort, Old Sheldon Church stands as a reminder of the destruction in South Carolina during both the American Revolution and the Civil War. Originally completed in 1748, it was burned by the British in 1780, rebuilt, and subsequently destroyed by General Sherman’s Army in 1865.
Today, this picturesque spot is a local favorite for photographers, weddings, Sunday outings and picnics at tables under the shading oaks. Grave stones of the William Bull Family mark the landscape showing dates from 1755 to as recent as 1941. An Annual Service is held the second Sunday after Easter.
To find the ruins from Beaufort, travel north on U.S Hwy. 21 to Old Sheldon Church Road. The ruins are about one mile on the right, denoted by a historical marker.